Eleven to Contest for Ruhama County Parliamentary Seat

By APN Reporter


A total of ten people have shown interest in contesting for the Ruhama county parliamentary seat in Ntungamo district.

The seat fell vacant on November 3rd following the death of the incumbent legislator, William Beijukye Zinkurateire who succumbed to Hepatitis B at Nsambya Hospital.

The electoral commission is by –law required to organize fresh elections within sixty days upon the death of a legislator.

Although Electoral Commission is yet to announce the date for the Ruhama County MP by-elections, at least ten are warming up to take the seat. They include among others the deceased’s wife, Allen Beijukye, his brother, Johnson Rumanywa Zinkuratiire, Africa Vincent. Santurina Namanya Kachene, the manager Boona FM in Rukungiri, Dr. Bazinzi Natamba, Yonah Musinguzi Bikwatsizehi, the former Ntungamo municipality MP, Moses Kahima , Adens Rutaro Ntare and Kenneth Kagundu, a member of the Forum for Democratic Change-FDC party.

The others are Engineer Jackson Mubangizi Kabikire, an official from Uganda National Bureau of Standards-UNBS, Ashel Mupenzi, the Rweikiniro sub county Councilor, Brenda Ankunda Mutetsi, Muheebwa Anold Kongo from Red Ribbon, Dr. Bazinzi Natamba, Boora Erick Musafiri, January Bamanzi Zibaagwe and Phillip Mpamire Rwakikambuzi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *