2021 AFCON Qualifiers: 31 players summoned for Uganda Cranes duty


The technical team in charge of the Senior Men’s National Team on Friday summoned a total of 31 players that will feature in the final two 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualification games against Malawi and Burkina Faso.

Abdallah Mubiru, the Uganda Cranes assistant coach together with coach Livingstone Mbabazi named the team on Friday morning in a brief function held at FUFA Complex, Mengo.

Uganda Cranes assistant coach Abdallah Mubiru.

Mubiru confirmed that the team will enter residential camp on 18th March at the Cranes Paradise Hotel.

‘The team will enter residential camp on 18th March 2021 at Cranes Paradise Hotel to prepare for Burkina Faso and Malawi.’

Coach Abdallah Mubiru and Livingstone Mbabazi

The team comprise of four goalkeepers, ten defenders, eleven midfielders and six forwards.

Two players from the Uganda Hippos (U20) who are currently playing at the Africa U20 Cup of Nations in Mauritania have been included on the team named today.

These are captain Garvin Mugweri Kizito and midfielder Bobosi Byaruhanga.

Midfielder Bobosi Byaruhanga
Uganda Hippos skipper Garvin Kizito Mugweri (L)

Uche Ikpeazu Mubiru who features for Wycombe Wanders in the English Championship is also part of the team. Despite earning calls previously, this will be his first team to be part of the squad.

Uche Ikpeazu Mubiru(Left) in action

Uganda is second in group B on seven points and will face leaders Burkina Faso on 24th March in Kampala before ending the campaihn away against Malawi.

At the same function, FUFA Communications Director, Ahmed Hussein launched the tag line for the home against Burkina Faso.

FUFA Communications Director, Ahmed Hussein

This is translated in four languages namely; English, Luganda, Runyakitara and Luo.

English- Seal it

Luganda- Tukiggale

Runyakitara – Tukimalirize

Luo- Opung Wie Oko

“The Uganda Cranes are still in contention for qualification to 2021 AFCON and we believe this can be achieved in the penultimate game against Burkina Faso at home. The purpose of the this message to call upon fans to rally behind the team and support them from home because no fans are allowed in the stadium at the moment.’ He said.

Full Squad summoned


Dennis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Jamal Salim (Al Hilal, Sudan), Charles Lukwago(KCCA FC-Uganda), Kigonya Mathias ( Azam FC- Tanzania)


Mugabi Bevis (Motherwell FC- Scotland), Kizza Mustapha (DC Montreal- USA), Ronald Mukiibi(Ostersunds FK, Sweden), Nico Wakiro Wadada (Azam, Tanzania), Timothy Denis Awany (Sport Club Ironi, Ashdod, Israel), Joseph Ochaya (TP Mazembe, Democratic Republic of Congo), Lwaliwa Halid (Vipers SC-Uganda), Elvis Bwomono (Southend United, England), Juuko Murushid (Express FC-Uganda), Kizito Mugweri Gavin (SC Villa- Uganda)


Miya Faruku (Konyaspor- Turkey), Kizito Luwagga (Hapoel Kfar Saba- Israel), Waiswa Moses (SupersportUnited-South Africa), Lwanga Taddeo (Simba SC- Tanzania), Michael Azira (New Mexico United-, USA),Khalid Aucho (Misr Lel Makasa, Egypt), Allan Kyambadde (El Gouna, Egypt), Allan Okello (Paradou,Algeria), Lumala Abdu (Pyramids FC- Egypt), Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers SC-Uganda), Orit Ibrahim (Vipers SC-Uganda).


Emmanuel Arnold Okwi (Ittihad Alexandria, Egypt), Fahad Bayo (Sport Club Ironi Ashdod, Israel), KadduPatrick (Youssoufia Berrechid-Tunisia), Uche Mubiru Ikpeazu (Wycombe Wanderers, England), Sentamu Yunus (Vipers SC-Uganda), Isiagi Daniel (Jomo Cosmos-South Africa).