Kabale diocese ordains 6 priests,7 deacons

The ordination was held today during the scientific Mass at St Mary’s Rushoroza cathedral in Kabale district. The ordained priests are: Placid Mugumya from Nyarushanje parish in Rukungiri district, Achilles Tumukurate from Rubanda parish, Deogratias Mwebembezi from Muko parish in Rubanda district, Deogratias Tubiheruhanga from Rwanyena parish and Vincent Turinawe, from Maziba parish in Kabale district.

Ordained deacons include: Zaverio Tindimwebwa from Nyarushanje parisin Rukungiri district, Julius Ankunda from Rutooma parish in Kanungu district, Deus Niwagaba from Rwanyena parish in Kabale district Brian Monday from Muko parish, Paul Atuyambe from Rubanda parish, Nicodemus Mubangizi from Rubanda parish in Rubanda district and Jeremias Nsabimana from Kinanira parish in Kisoro district.

Ordained lectors are Adon Aturinde , Blaise Nabahirwa , Cyril Ayebazibwe, Deusdedit Niwagaba, Ivan Ndamira, Joseph Twizerimana, Justus Turyatunga, Peregrino Turyatunga ,Sostine Mugisha and Syrus Aharizira.

The ordination which had been scheduled to be held in August 2020 was suspended due to Covid-19 lockdown on churches.  Today, their ordination was conducted in a mass where Christians observed social distancing, with only three people allowed at each chair. Other christens who had arrived to attend the service were seen being advised by police officers to go back. Only two journalists were also allowed to cover the ordination ceremony and others were denied entry.   Bishop Rubaramira asked the ordained priests, deacons and lectors to preach the gospel of peace and repentance.